I need a photo drone for future travels

I have been writing about my past travels and it just hit me that there were lots of beautiful places that I have visited and I would have loved to post the photos of them but I don’t have them!

I don’t have the photos because I like to live in the moment and I hate the act of taking pictures while traveling because it removes me from my primary objective of traveling which is : being in the moment and enjoying everything.

I have also seen many people who seem to enjoy photography while traveling but I don’t envy them. Because I see that they miss many small but beautiful details because they are too busy behind the camera lens. I even hate it when people pose for around 20 photos in same posture at the same place because they “want to post it on Facebook”.

Even then, I would like to have the photos of my travel – I don’t want to be the one snapping them though. So here is the solution that I have in my mind-

A camera drone-

  • It should recognise when I am standing with my fellow travelers and smiling – maybe it can have a voice command. “CameraX please take a photo of my group”
  • Randomly take snapshots when people are smiling or laughing
  • Recognise moments such as – cutting of a cake, raising of toasts etc. and take snaps at those moments
  • Take photos from my viewpoint – for example if I am watching the waves on the beach. It can take the photo of the beach and say – “Neeraj’s view beach at Goa, India”

It can have some more features but these are the ones which would suffice for me. I think some companies are already building similar cameras, I just wish I would have one such camera soon to document all my future travels with losing the sight of the moment.

Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.

  • Arthur C Clarke

Leave a comment