Web as a quirky place

When I first started blogging, web was not ‘that’ old in India. I remember making my first email id on Yahoomail and feeling pretty awesome that now anyone, anywhere in the world can write to me. That feeling lasted for about an hour at least. Small euphoria of gaining an identity over this thing called Internet.

Everything was a bit exciting. Discovering new websites was the usual thing. From Yahoo! chat rooms to blogs, everything was about discovery.

These days to me, that sense of discovery is little lost. Maybe its just me, but what is the situation for you? The web has become a bit too branded for me. There are a few websites which hold up most of the mindshare-

  • Facebook for the social things with friends
  • Twitter for social things with people who are not friends
  • Quora for random questions and answers
  • Medium to read some long form writing of bloggers
  • A couple of more news websites

In short, I feel that the original quirky ness where you read about some random blogger writing about an obscure topic is getting reduced. I think it should increase! As the web has been growing and more and more people are having these devices, the opportunity to find a group as unusual as you should increase.

Maybe I am not discovering new websites at enough pace, you tell me more? How has you reading/interaction experience changed since the early web?

My expectation and hope of the web is more like this Yikyak advertisement, where you can find your herd. Lets see how it turns out to be.

Leave a comment