Easy and boring vs difficult and toll-taking

Many times I talk to people and they keep on talking about two of the following scenarios-

  • ahh…my job is so easy, there is nothing to do, I am wasting my time and bored
  • OR …ahh…this is such a difficult job. Its taking a toll on me, I wish I could spend more time doing other things

I think there is some layer of truth in both the statements and I have faced the same scenario many times over and keep facing it. One of the things I have realised is that one can not have both the things at the same time. You can either be very busy or very lazy and you should learn to enjoy the scenario. In fact I think that the problem has already been solved by so many pioneers of the society already for us! We have weekends!

Weekends are two days off from work and weekdays are 5 days of work. So you can have the gruelling amount of work that you want to do, to continue to have the feeling of growth and contributions and you can have two days exclusively for the feelings of human experiences that you want to have in the other times! How awesome is this? !

The truouble is that while the weekdays are decided by others, weekends are to be planned by themselves and most people are not really good at organising things by themselves. Hence most weekends of people are unplanned and hence evaporate in thin air and hence they miss out on the numerous elongated experience that they can have when they are on weekends and in the end they end up tired and just bored on Mondays, much to the chagrin of various colleagues that they work with.

Even better, the weekdays also have so many hours where you can plan various activities. But ahh! who has the time for that…

I think one solution might be to hire a coach kind of person. This coach would do nothing but planning your weekends so that you can experience different things. He would make the plans for you, talk to you. And if you set that you want to travel to one city per month, he would call you, bug you and do all the arrangements for you. This would in my opinion, necessarily enrich the life of people.

I for one would pay for such a person because I cherish experiences more than buying stuff to show off.

One more thing that people miss when they do easy things, is the feeling of accompalishment. When the world has been enamored by instant gratification, the feeling of accompalishment is a bit rare. But its sweetness has increased. What do you think?

Leave a comment